Buy Now

The Former Prophets: Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings
by Bob MacDonald

How will we begin the unfolding history of Israel after the giving of Torah?

We have heard the phrase, the Law and the Prophets. The Prophets are the second major division of the Hebrew Scriptures. The prophets recount the history of Israel after the giving of the Law. The first section of the prophets is the subject of four books: Joshua, Judges, Samuel, and Kings. Each of Samuel and

Kings is traditionally divided into two parts.

Here we read of the occupation of the Promised Land, the early period of the Judges, the call of Samuel, prophet during the lives of Saul and David, the sweet psalmist of Israel, and we read of the progression of the kings of Israel from Solomon to the exile. What a saga! And all of it set to music in the very

text itself.

The center between first and second Samuel contains the elegy of David over Saul and over Jonathan, his son. Its full sadness is to be known by hearing it recited with its music. To read with the music is an unforgettable reading of the Hebrew Bible.

The Former Prophets is volume 2 of the series, The Hebrew Bible and Its Music.